Orchid Flowers

How to Take Care of Black Jewel Orchids?

Posted on: May 20, 2011

Are you worried about the care of your black jewel orchids???? Don’t worry. I myself grew black jewel orchids in my home and did a lot of search on tips to take care black jewel orchids. During my search, I found a number of useful tips which I also used to take proper care of my black jewel orchids. For your help and convenience, I will share these tips with you:

  • According to my research and experience, black jewel orchids require low light level because too much light will spoil color of its leaves and they will start looking dull. If leaves of your black jewel orchids have become yellowish or reddish then it means that they are receiving more light than required. Moreover if you are feeling that leaves are warmer than surrounding air, it also means that plants are receiving too much light so be careful in this regard and place a thin curtain to protect plant from excessive sunlight.
  • Black jewel orchids should be watered early in morning so that it may become dry before night. I made a mistake of watering my plants in afternoon and as a result wet leaves of my plants caught nighttime chills so don’t do this mistake. I will add one more thing here. Always remember that wet leaves are easily attacked by fungus so water plants twice a week in summer and once a week in winter season. Make sure that you are keeping potting medium moist instead of wet. I will recommend you to use rainwater for watering purpose instead of tap water as rainwater contains fluoride.
  • Black jewel orchids require well-draining potting medium so I will suggest you to use a mixture of bark and coconut peat along with frayed isolite. These plants also grow in regular potting soil that is mixed with peat moss, gravel or sand.
  • As far as fertilizing is concerned, black jewel orchids need to be fertilized during their growing season to boost up flowering. While fertilizing, make sure that you have watered the plants because fertilizers can burn plant roots.
  • If orchids are grown indoors, they can be easily attacked by pests like mealy bugs, scale and spider mites. To control pest attack, use soapy water instead of those insecticides containing harsh chemicals. Solution should be directly sprayed on insects to kill them all. To kill mealy bugs and scale, use rubbing alcohol.

That was all about taking care of black jewel orchids. You can follow these tips with full faith as they have followed by me as well.

Leave a Reply

